We've moved, ! Update your bookmarks to https://thesouthpacific.org! These forums are being archived.

Dismiss this notice
See LegComm's announcement to make sure you're still a legislator on the new forums!

Re-elect Sandaoguo for Minister of Foreign Affairs!
Rainbow 
Introduction

I’m sure everybody knows me by now. I am the incumbent Minister of Foreign Affairs, running for a third term. (Technically, my first term was only a partial term, since I ran in a special election, but who’s counting?) If there’s anything you want to know about me personally, go ahead and ask! I won’t bore you with things you might not care about. Tounge

Since my opponents seem to taking off with the manifesto idea, I won’t spare anything for brevity. After two-ish terms in office, I have a lot of experience with the inner machinations of TSP politics and foreign affairs. So I have a lot to say, and I don’t think being brief will do it any justice.

GCR Security Network

One of the major focuses of my last term as Minister of Foreign Affairs was to expand our traditional set of alliances, with a focus on forging security agreements with other Game-Created Regions. I successfully negotiated a treaty with The Rejected Realms, which was just ratified with near unanimity by the Assembly. I believe that GCRs should primarily provide for their own defense, as we are a shared community with the same types of security issues. We may have differing politics, but I sincerely believe that can be overcome in order to protect GCR sovereignty.

That being said, previous attempts at multilateral organizations have failed. The Modern Pacific Alliance bit off more than it could chew, and restricted signatories too much. The Sovereign Confederation faced much of the same fate. There was a feeble attempt to resurrect the Modern Pacific Alliance as the Modern Pacific-Sinker Alliance, but that idea was dropped in light of the failures of previous multilateral organizations.